The Cars Of Proctor

The Cars Of Proctor
and the North End of Tacoma

Having recently moved to the Proctor District in the North End of Tacoma recently it didn’t take much to fall in love with this place.  The history, the sense of community, the local businesses and the people truly make Proctor a home.

Being in walking or biking distance from the water (kayak time), Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium (and the rest of Point Defiance Park), shopping and restaurants in Proctor as well as Old Town means more exercise.

Our neighbors are always outside.  We chat almost daily and everyone is more than happy to say hello or good morning, especially on our Sunday morning walk to Metropolitan Market for coffee.

We’re close to downtown, the museums, shopping and the Tacoma Dome for events and shows.

What’s most fascinating about this place – the cars.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Very much absent from here are the high end and luxury brands.  In fact, the new cars are small Fords and other simple, get from point A to point B ones. No extravagance. No “keeping up with the Jonses”.

I was recently reading an article about the lack of cars from my era – the 70s and 80s.  The cars I learned to drive.  The ones I always wanted.  There are usually plenty of collectibles and antiques anywhere but it’s the collection from this time period, some in immaculate condition and others worn and beaten, that call Proctor home which draw my eye.

I’d love your comments and if you can add information from Make to Model to year along with any unique facts, I’d love it.

I’m all about networking and meeting new people. I’m always happy to connect online and if you’re in the Tacoma, WA or South Sound Area, I’d enjoy meeting over a good cup of coffee to chart about social media or life in general.    The coffee is on me!

In the meantime, enjoy my personal thoughts and ramblings.

Robert

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Personal Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.