The LinkedIn Messaging Protocol (Revisited)

This post can now be found in it’s entirety at Tactical Social Media.
It was originally published on 29 December 2014.

I like LinkedIn.  It’s a great networking tool and every bit as powerful as face to face networking opportunities both in group and one on one meetings.  LinkedIn offers the ability to showcase one’s expertise, create authority and build great business and personal relationships.

Sadly, I’ve seen a shift over the past few years to more sales pitches in the form of status updates and messages, connections being made for that sole purpose and more bulk messages.  While bulk messages in themselves aren’t always a negative, when you’re looking to strengthen the relationships you have already established, lumping me in with 20+ other ‘Robert’s in your contacts is certainly not a positive way to connect with me.

While bulk #LinkedIn messages in themselves aren't always a negative, when you’re looking to strengthen the relationships you have already established, lumping me in with 20+ other ‘Robert’s in your contacts is certainly not a positive way to connect with me.

Continue Reading at Tactical Social Media.

You can also find this discussion and comment on Google+Pinterest, LinkedIn and Facebook or simply Tweet your thoughts!  If you found this post helpful please share it as others might too.

If you need help building out your LinkedIn profile, learning how to better leverage LinkedIn to showcase your expertise, create authority and build great business and personal relationships and ultimately grow your business or simply have a question, I’d love to chat over a good cup of coffee – and the coffee is on me!

To schedule a consultation or to book me for a workshop or speaking engagement, I can be reached at robert@tacticalsocialmedia.org.

Social Media Strategist | Consultant | Educator | Marketer | Speaker; Focused on HOW to leverage social media, not just master the platforms.Robert Nissenbaum is a successful small business owner with more than 20 years of marketing and sales experience.  Using the same social media and traditional marketing techniques he leveraged to brand and drive revenue for his own businesses, he works with other small to medium-sized business owners to do the same.  His methodology is based on his own practical experience leveraging inbound and outbound platforms with a revolutionary approach and philosophy.  His methods have been applied successfully to retail, service and non-profit based organizations.

        Follow Robert: Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Facebook; Tactical Social Media Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Google+; Tactical Social Media Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; LinkedIn; Tactical Social Media Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Pinterest; Tactical Social Media Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Twitter; Tactical Social Media Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; WordPress Blog; Tactical Social Media  Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Instagram; Tactical Social Media

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in LinkedIn, Marketing & Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.