Facebook Changes Terms of Service for Photographers

I haven’t read anything on the new policy (as found on asmp.org) or snopes.com to even know if it’s true yet, but regardless, you are sharing content on a public site and doing so at the site’s discretion (they can ban or block you).  As long as you are on their system, using their servers, you are playing by their rules.  While it would never likely be the case your images could be sold by a third party due to copyright law, once you upload your images to a public site, there is always the risk of theft with you being left to find it and fight it.

Facebook Changes Terms of Service for Photographers http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_privacy

One option to avoid the risk is to host all of your own images, add watermarks (though they can be removed), modify meta tag data to allow you to easily catch a thief (of course I can use software to capture the image rather than save it directly), modify the image to make it less desirable to steal or any number of other options.

If hosted on your site with watermarks and good tags you can add a layer of protection against anyone.  To avoid ANY hassle on social media, simply share the link for the image rather than direct posting.  After all there is SEO value in this practice and it certainly helps drive eyes to YOUR owned content – what the goal of capitalizing on social media should be (part of the inbound funnel) for businesses looking to generate income.

It may or may not be true.  It may or may not be legal.  The bottom line, it is up to you to protect yourself and your content.  Share smart.

Your Turn

Any photographers want to weigh in on how they are protecting their images and thoughts?

Want to let me know what you’re thinking?  You can find this post and comment on Google+, LinkedIn and Facebook or simply Tweet your thoughts!  If you found this post helpful please share it as others might too.

_____________________________________________________________________________

To schedule a consultation or to book me for a workshop or speaking engagement, I can be reached at robert@tacticalsocialmedia.org.

Social Media Strategist | Consultant | Educator | Marketer | Speaker; Focused on HOW to leverage social media, not just master the platforms.I am a successful small business owner with more than 20 years of marketing and sales experience.  Using the same social media and traditional marketing techniques I leveraged to brand and drive revenue for my own businesses, I work with other small to medium sized business owners to do the same.  My methodology is based on my own practical experience leveraging inbound and outbound platforms with a revolutionary approach and philosophy.  My methods have been applied successfully to retail, service and non profit based organizations.

        You can follow me on Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Facebook Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Google+ Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; LinkedIn Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Pinterest Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Twitter Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; WordPress Blog  Robert Nissenbaum, social media strategist & consultant; Instagram.                                   

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Marketing & Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.