Direct Messages And The Use Of Autoresponders On Twitter – My Pet Peeve

I love the use of the messaging feature on each platform as a strategic tool for more personalized connecting and relationship building.  I was ecstatic to see Pinterest finally release the feature.

Still, the one place I see it abused and improperly used is Twitter.  Really, if you do not have the time to send me a personal thank you for following (and I doubt most do) then maybe you should only send Direct Messages to those fitting a specific set of criteria, those who could be a valuable resource or connection to you.

Whatever you do….stop using autoresponders.  It’s obvious when you do, it’s not personal and certainly isn’t social.  Worst yet – when the message is not even generic enough to avoid offending someone.

Take one of the latest one I received….keep in mind that I’m a marketing strategist!

Whatever you do....stop using autoresponders.  It's obvious when you do, it's not personal and certainly isn't social.  Worst yet - when the message is not even generic enough to avoid offending someone.I’m a marketing strategist!  I’d better be happy with my strategy.  And if I wasn’t, your message certainly means I wouldn’t be asking you.

Sadly, it’s not hard to do it correctly.  Shortly after this one I received this one.

Proper_Twitter_follow_DM

I much applaud Gideon Nielson for taking the time to do it right.   We conversed, I followed him on Facebook as well and added him to a list of quality engagers.

What’s your thought on the use of autoresponders?

SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGIST, CONSULTANT, EDUCATOR, MARKETER, SPEAKERby:  Robert Nissenbaum

Comments missing?  Want to let me know what you’re thinking?  You can find this post and comment on Google+, Pinterest and Facebook or simply Tweet me with your thoughts!  If you found this post helpful please share it as others might too.

About Robert Nissenbaum

As a consultant, speaker and educator I provide common sense, practical and actionable social media advice to small business owners and solopreneurs. Active using LinkedIn and Facebook since 2007, Twitter since 2009, Google+ and Pinterest by invitation before public release and now Instagram, the advice, support and training I offer are based on close to a decade of experience in using social media for my personal and own business brands, not simply what I have been taught or read. I approach social media from a very different perspective than most in the industry. I teach small business owners to shift their view of social media; to understand it’s less about their content and more about networking and building relationships. I work with clients to create the blueprint they need to succeed, help put the infrastructure and systems in place and offer continuing support. Social media is more than a career. It’s my passion. Having spoken on and taught social media since 2011, you’ll get a knowledgeable, seasoned speaker who will deliver quality content without fluff and up-sells. I am available to speak or facilitate social media training workshops at your event on a variety of topics and have presented in Washington and Arizona. Speaking engagements and workshops can be tailored to your needs with presentations as short as 20-30 minutes and training workshops starting at 90 minutes.
This entry was posted in Marketing & Social Media, Twitter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.