You Do NOT Need To Pay For Reach On Facebook

Beginning 1 January 2015 I’ll be posting at Tactical Social Media

If you are a subscriber to this blog I greatly appreciate the support.  I’d love to have you join me at my new home and subscribe to my newsletter to keep current on my content.

All content here will remain.  Just hit The Archives list to the right.  Over time posts will be updated and reposted at Tactical Social Media.

Thanks for reading!

Boosting posts and paying for Facebook ads is not necessary.

Consider this example:  My Facebook consulting page only has 249 fans (I’m far more active on Google+) but managed a post reach of 470 (as of this writing) that was completely organic and resulted in driving 24 views on my blog within 12 hours.

You Do NOT Need To Pay For Reach On #Facebook! My results are not by accident.  While similar results cannot always be guaranteed, A quality page (optimized, high fan quality), quality content, the correct posting patterns (how written, when posted, non use of scheduling) and how you engage will see good organic reach.  It's all about solid, smart practices and well, a commitment to doing it right.  I've been personally developing that strategy over the past 5 years to grow other businesses leveraging social media and the bottom line - it works.

My results are not by accident.  While similar results cannot always be guaranteed, a quality page (optimized, high fan quality) posting quality, well written content with the correct posting patterns (how written, when posted, non use of scheduling) can see good organic reach.  It’s all about solid, smart practices and well, a commitment to doing it right.  I’ve been personally developing that strategy over the past 5 years to socially grow other businesses and the bottom line – it gets results.

#Facebook has the ability to generate significant reach based on your content, your fan base and how you engage WITHOUT the need to pay for it.  a quality page (optimized, high fan quality) posting quality, well written content with the correct posting patterns (how written, when posted, non use of scheduling) can see good organic reach.

Using paid strategies still has a place in driving Facebook reach as part of a solid strategy.

Leveraging a well thought out strategy after the initial day of posting can drive significantly more organic reach later.  For this post, I expect that reach to rise further over the next week (not to mention driving additional blog views).

Boosting the post or creating an ad from it now provides a double benefit – the ability to target your paid reach giving your post exposure to the right people as well as the masses. You’ll find that boosting or creating an ad from a post performing well organically is more likely to drive paid clicks. Human nature makes us more likely to want to view content that others have liked and viewed.

If everyone else likes it – I might too.  If no one else likes it, why should I?  (Remember the slogan “He likes it! Hey Mikey!” ?  The campaign ran for 12 years and I’m sure we can all name the product  being marketed.)

The simple takeaways:

  • Facebook has the ability to generate significant reach based on your content, your fan base and how you engage WITHOUT the need to pay for it.
  • Facebook Ads using or boosting a post seeing significant organic reach can increase your click through rate over a poorly producing post.
  • Facebook (like all social media platforms) has the ability to drive significant amounts of traffic to your blog or website.

I’d love your thoughts.  Are you getting good reach without paying for it?  Are you paying for it?

If you have something that works for you to drive reach organically on Facebook, please share it on one of the links below.

SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGIST, CONSULTANT, EDUCATOR, MARKETER, SPEAKERby:  Robert Nissenbaum

Comments missing?  Want to let me know what you’re thinking?  You can find this post and comment on Google+Pinterest and Facebook or simply Tweet me with your thoughts!  If you found this post helpful please share it as others might too.

About Robert Nissenbaum

As a consultant, speaker and educator I provide common sense, practical and actionable social media advice to small business owners and solopreneurs. Active using LinkedIn and Facebook since 2007, Twitter since 2009, Google+ and Pinterest by invitation before public release and now Instagram, the advice, support and training I offer are based on close to a decade of experience in using social media for my personal and own business brands, not simply what I have been taught or read. I approach social media from a very different perspective than most in the industry. I teach small business owners to shift their view of social media; to understand it’s less about their content and more about networking and building relationships. I work with clients to create the blueprint they need to succeed, help put the infrastructure and systems in place and offer continuing support. Social media is more than a career. It’s my passion. Having spoken on and taught social media since 2011, you’ll get a knowledgeable, seasoned speaker who will deliver quality content without fluff and up-sells. I am available to speak or facilitate social media training workshops at your event on a variety of topics and have presented in Washington and Arizona. Speaking engagements and workshops can be tailored to your needs with presentations as short as 20-30 minutes and training workshops starting at 90 minutes.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Marketing & Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.