Still Focused On A Creating Individual Strategies For Each Social Media Platform?

How social media platforms are intertwined, understanding the true value of social media. Tucson Social Media. http://plus.google.com/+RobertNissenbaumAre you still focused on a creating individual strategies for each social media platform?  Or have you figured they are actually intertwined and learning to leverage the power of one  to grow your brand and reach on another?

As an educator and consultant I try to get my clients to focus less on trying to measure ROI for each individual platform or specific marketing activity and shift to seeing their activity as a whole. For me, you finally ‘get’ social media when you understand how all of your activities intertwine to build your complete WPO and that your ROI is a measure of how well those activities work together (or don’t) and what need to change.

As an example, I pinned a relatively unattractive image from this blog to my Pinterest page this evening.  I have all of my pins set to auto-tweet.  That simple pin resulted in 2 new Twitter followers and 9 Re-Tweets from non followers within 1 minute!!  I effectively used Pinterest to leverage my blog by increasing Twitter followers and Re-Tweets!

The value in linking Pinterest to Twitter.  Tucson Social Media

A side note on ROI….if this results in a client and they inform me they came to me after seeing a Twitter post…is that really a sale generated from Twitter?  Maybe.  For me, if they followed the link to Pinterest and ultimately to my blog, the sale was generated by the blog post.  Twitter was simply the initial point of contact that brought them to my blog.  the sale was generated by the my overall strategy leveraging each marketing piece in the correct way.

Of course given how fast the tweet was Re-Tweeted….I’d suspect there couldn’t have been much reading done.  In the end, that’s OK.  It’s still part of the strategy that drives exposure.

by:  Robert Nissenbaum

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Marketing & Social Media, Pinterest, Twitter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.