Want To Pin Directly From Facebook?

Since Facebook does not allow you to directly pin images we’ve had to resort to saving the image and uploading the pin.  While this works, it takes more time and unless you remember to change the source from “pinner’ to the URL of your Facebook page you lose SEO and the link back.

While still not as easy a as directly pinning there is a handy little extension for Google’s Chrome Browser called Shotpin.   It’s actually a screen capture extension that can pull an image from any website and pin it (yes, there are sites that block pinning).   Using it I was easily able to pin the image and post from my Facebook page to Pinterest with easy AND in the process include the link to the post!

The steps are simple.

  • Install the extension from Shotpin
  • From your Facebook page, find the post with the image you want to share.
  • Right click on the time stamp and open the image in a new tab.  This will provide the URL for your post.

Do You Want To Pin Directly From Facebook to Pinterest?  http://www.rnissenbaum.wordpress.com Facebook post URL

  • Click the Shotpin Icon on the upper right side of your search bar

Shotpin

  • Click on the Shotpin icon on the upper left corner  Shotpin_icon
  • Use the ‘+’ cursor to select the photo you wish to pin and click the Pin button in the lower right corner to open the Pinterest Pin It box.  The side benefit here is that you can actually select text as well if you’re on a site that doesn’t have an image or you simply find a phrase or quote you wish to pin!

Shotpin Pin It ButtonPinterest Pin It Box

 

  • Happy Pinning!

by:  Robert Nissenbaum

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Marketing & Social Media, Pinterest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.