Are You Properly Timing Your Facebook Post?

Even if you’re sure you are….you might want to head to your page and the insights tab.  Did you know that your optimal post time changes based on the day of the week?  Facebook clearly shows when your fans are online based on the day as well as what time…..

When_your_fans_are_active

 

What you do not get as clearly is what time your fans are active on any given day.  The results might surprise you.  Check out a client’s results on Thursday.  While the times are close, with posts being ‘active for a 2-3’ hour window  if they’re looking for eyes on posts in the evening, their posts need to be published earlier.  The peak morning time is also later.

Screenshot (4)

 

The average shows an increase in views after 5 PM but on Thursdays views actually drop after 5 PM.

So how do you see the optimal time per day?  Just mouse over the day above the graph.

Most of the tie your average will work and it can get exhausting to try and time posts perfectly every day.  My recommendation:  work off the average, check it weekly, monitor your posts to see the engagement they receive and don’t be afraid to post even at off times.  You never know who will see the post and the reaction it will get.  Some of my best posts should never have been seen according to Facebook’s insights.

Have a tip?  Let me know.  My advise helpful?  Please share it.

by:  Robert Nissenbaum

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Facebook and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.