#Hashtags Revisited

Hashtags can be a powerful marketing and branding tool when used correctly.  They’ll allow you to maintain consistency and allow your business to be easily recognized and searched for across a variety of social media sites and in Google.

Here are a couple of #socialmediacafe tips to get you / keep you on the right track:

1. Create a unique tag to brand yourself. Ideally it will identify your business, be catchy and easily recognizable and easy to remember.  It will need to be short as not to overtake your post and easy to add from a mobile device, especially if you’re asking customers and clients to use it.

2. Use it in ALL of your marketing from email signatures to print and especially in all social media posts. It’s branding, searchable in all social media platforms and even in Google!  Using it in print may seem odd, but think of the hashtag as your ‘online’ slogan or catchphrase.  The more it’s visible, the better.  The hashtag used in print also helps tie your various campaigns together.

Hashtag_searchable

3.  Ask your fans, customers and clients to use it!!  If you’re already engaging and running contests, ask that they uploads photos, testimonials tagged with your #Hashtag,  This works well within a given social media platform where it’s easy to sort your feed or search for posts with a specific tag.

Hashtags are a great way to brand your business.  You just need to take the time to create the right tag and use it!

By: Robert Nissenbaum

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Google +, LinkedIn, Marketing & Social Media, Pinterest, Twitter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.