“Social Media Experts”

OK, I cannot hold back any longer…one of my BIGGEST #PETPEEVES is when I see people calling themselves “Social Media Experts” and it is VERY clear that they are NOT!

Here is what Social Fuzz says about one of the reasons why social media isn’t working in your business…

You hired the wrong person – There are a lot of people out there that call themselves social media experts. Just because they’ve used social media for their personal lives, they think they can help businesses do the same.

These are the same people that will take $8 an hour jobs for social media, because they enjoy it. The problem is, they have no training, no experience, and no idea how business needs to work with social media, and thus causing them to make mistakes.

1380587_10151978984616509_1224288810_n
The Fix – Make sure the person you hire is a social media expert, with past clients, results, a website and active social media profiles.

So how do you tell if they are experts?  They should practice what they preach. Take a look at their personal sites (Twitter, G+, Facebook).  It’s their resume.  If they cannot drive reach and likes and engagement for themselves, how do they expect to do it for you  Ask for pages they manage.  Look at the post quality and content.  Look for the reach – likes, comments and shares.  Do those results look like something you want on your page?

What do you look for when hiring a social media expert?

Guest post by MJ Jensen
www.ideamagic.com
www.facebook.com/ideamagic

#socialmediacafe

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Marketing & Social Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.