A Creative Way to Increase Your Facebook Fanbase

By  now, most of those I speak to about social media are aware that I am no a fan of contests or gimmicks to increase your fan base.  However, there is an exception to every rule.

My friend, Michael C DeShalit, had an interesting situation.  As a magician and hypnotist performing shows at a number of events, he routinely had audience members taking pictures.  That in itself was not an issue, but getting copies of those pictures was.  Leave it to a bit of creative thinking to not only solve that issue, but increase his fan base for Motivating Minds Hypnosis Facebook page, build his professional database and collect email addresses at the same time!

“Hey Tucson Business Experts gang… So I was doing a show last night for FBLA at La Paloma and figured out a way to get some extra edge on Facebook. I offered to the first twenty people in the audience who came up to me after my show a free hypnosis mp3 download if they Friended and Liked me on Facebook and posted a picture or video that they took of my show. They also had to e-mail me so I would have their e-mail address to where I should send the download. This will work for anyone who is a performer or speaker, or even someone facilitating a business meeting or presentation. You gain Facebook Friends, Likes and collect E-mail Addresses and they get something for free such as a mp3 or e-book download. A real win-win for all parties. Give this a shot and get some edge. – Michael C. DeSchalit

Several students posted pictures and videos on my “Fan Page”. Here is one of the pictures posted…

Well done Michael!

 

Michael C. DeSchalit

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Marketing & Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.