Using Pinterest? You Might Be Violating Copyright Laws.

Pinterest may be the new kid on the block and have everyone’s attention, but I have a number of concerns that are affecting how I use it.

First, on the personal side, the whole concept bothers me.  I  understand its value – pinning images to virtual bulletin boards is an awesome idea.  Rather than needing a room full of boards and taking the time to collect, print and clip images we can now do it online.  This is great for anyone working on a specific project whether it be a homeowner in the process of a remodel or a wedding planning working on a client’s big day.  But what concerns me is how open people are with what they are willing to post publicly.  I now have a much clearer picture of some people.  I know their favorite plants, what their house looks like, their travel desires and more.  Pinterest is a voyeurs/stalkers dream come true.

The second serious issue for me is based on how Pinterest works.

The concept is simple – upload an image or pin an image or video from another site.  The latter is encouraged yet legally, you cannot do this.  Just because an image is posted on the web does not make it fair game to use it for your benefit (unless you have permission).  That means you are potentially violating copyright laws by using Pinterest unless you ONLY pin content you have created or have rights to use! (Think Napster!) Even Pinterest’s own terns and conditions (http://pinterest.com/about/terms/) make this quite clear.  Based on recent changes in the past week to their terms and conditions, it seems like their legal team might be looking to deflect any issues back to the end user.

” ii. To third parties. Pinterest values and respects the rights of third party creators and content owners, and expects you to do the same. You therefore agree that any User Content that you post to the Service does not and will not violate any law or infringe the rights of any third party, including without limitation any Intellectual Property Rights (defined below), publicity rights or rights of privacy. We reserve the right, but are not obligated, to remove User Content from the Service for any reason, including User Content that we believe violates these Terms or the Pinterest Acceptable Use Policy. It is important that you understand that you are in the best position to know if the materials you post are legally allowed. We therefore ask that you please be careful when deciding whether to make User Content available on our Service, including whether you can pin or re-pin User Content on your boards. To learn more about copyright and fair use, please click here for some links to useful third party resources.”

Not to sure I’d be comfortable posting or re-pinning anything I did not personally own.  If you are using Pinterest, be careful!

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Marketing & Social Media, Pinterest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.