Are 3rd Party Apps Hurting Your Social Media Efforts?

While posting via 3rd party apps like Hootsuite are no longer supposed to be  weighted less in terms of Edge within Facebook, I personally feel posting in each site allows better targeting of content based on the niche served by each platform (though some posts do cross platform audiences).  Being directly in each platform also encourages engagement (and that refers to interacting with others on THEIR pages/feeds not just with others on YOURS) that 3rd party apps cannot offer.

I do like 3rd party posting apps for scheduling certain posts as long as it is not done constantly.  There is value in this process especially for announcing sales, new product releases, contests, etc that might start at a specific time or  when you want a series of messages to be broadcast over time to build hype for one of the above mentioned.  Just be sure to not overdo it!

The big issue with constant use of 3rd party apps – other than the lack of engagement on your part within each platform – it can be seen as spam if used too often or if the same posts appear identically posted on a number of platforms with cross over followers, but quite honestly,  it’s not very social.

Automated posting is just that: automated.  The goal of any social media campaign should be to create an image for  your business that is personal and inviting.  After all, we buy from friends and people we like and trust.  Your business needs to be seen as that friend.  That will not happen if you rely on 3rd party apps.

What are your thoughts?  Do you use 3rd party apps to post?

Robert Nissenbaum

Connect:  Facebook      G+      LinkedIn
Social Media sites:  Facebook     Twitter      G+     Pinterest
RSS Feeds:   Facebook     Twitter    Pinterest    G+

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Marketing & Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.