Succeeding with Social Media: Part 3

Quality vs Quantity

Whenever I speak to someone new to social media and looking to start building a presence online for their business, the first question I get is ‘How often should I post?”.  My typical response – “Ideally, once per day, but don’t force it.”

Two big mistakes I see made by businesses within social media are the extremes of either simply not posting or posting constantly.  Not posting at all is self explanatory.  Posting too often requires some more understanding.

I consistently see businesses posting (in Facebook, Google Plus, Twitter among other platforms) everything they can.  Their sites become a collection and re-broadcast location of material culled from a variety of sources.  For your fans and followers, there is no value in this.  It’s information they can get on their own just as you did.  Offer them something better.  Take one of those stories and expand on it.  Tell them your thoughts on the subject or why you see the topic of value to them.  Give them something to think about or ask more questions.  It  is far better to post less and create quality content that sets your business up as the expert rather than simply regurgitating content from others in your own words.

The other downside posting too often – your earlier content gets pushed down and tends to get forgotten.  The last thing you want is good content hidden and out of site from your fans.  With the volume of posting within most social media platforms, its hard enough to remain visible.  Don’t make it harder on yourself.

As for posting daily – this tends to take the pressure off having to constantly come up with good content.  I constantly here “I don’t have time to post.”  If you stick to a once per day game plan, you can deliver quality content without stressing over how you’ll find the time.

And the last part of my response – ‘but don’t force it’ – sometimes it’s better to say nothing than to simply post for the sake of adding some content.  As long as your are consistently posting engaging and valuable information, missing a day now and again is not a big deal.

The bottom line:  Make sure you create a regular posting schedule that YOU can handle, provide quality, engaging content, and when you don’t have the content – don’t sweat it!

Robert Nissenbaum

Facebook (www.facebook.com/robertcnissenbaum)
Google + (www.plus.ly/robertnissenbaum)

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Marketing & Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.