Succeeding with Social Media: Part 2

Acknowledgment

Social media is about building relationships.  Think of it as the virtual equivalent to traditional networking.

In person you would never think of ignoring someone when they ask you a question.  So why would you do it ignore them online?  Far too often I see posts tagging others that simply go unanswered, never receiving a response from the tagged party.  Regardless of how busy you are or even annoyed at being tagged, you simply CANNOT brush off these requests.

Acknowledgment doesn’t always require a detailed response.  It can be as simple as ‘Liking’ a post, hitting the +1 button or a simple ‘TY’ will suffice in many cases.  Just make sure to respond.

As easy as it is to make long lasting connections within social media, it is easier to ‘burn bridges’.  Failing to acknowledge someone is the fastest way to lose what you have worked so hard to earn.

Robert Nissenbaum

Facebook (www.facebook.com/robertcnissenbaum)
Google + (www.plus.ly/robertnissenbaum)

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Marketing & Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.