Succeeding with Social Media

I recently read a great article on what businesses need to be doing to succeed in social media.  Most of these mirror my own views and form the basis for my success in driving sales and revenue in my primary business.  Over the coming weeks I’ll be posting (in no particular order) my rules for success.

One of the biggest mistakes I see business owners make is in social media is failure to interact and engage on the pages of OTHER businesses.  Social media is no different than any other business relationship.  If you only broadcast, you will not endear yourself to others.

 “We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak.” (Epictetus, Greek philosopher).

As your business, you need to make an effort to add value to the content on other business pages.  On a daily basis, either scan your business’s newsfeed or better yet, go to a couple of pages you like and see what others have posted.  Your comments go a long way towards building relationships.  If you can help add support for their position you not only bolster their expertise but yours as well.  For me, there is nothing better than someone else supporting my theories or helping answer one of my customer’s questions.

The added value to this type of activity – your page is exposed to others that might not normally see it, helping to increase your fan count.

Want to gain more value in your engagement?  I have a specific strategy behind my engagement practice.  I would love to teach it to you.  If you want to learn more, contact me on Facebook (www.facebook.com/robertcnissenbaum) or Google Plus (www.plus.ly/robertnissenbaum)

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Marketing & Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Succeeding with Social Media

  1. MJ Jensen says:

    Great ideas Robert! I do forget to engage from their fan page too! Thanks for the reminder!

Comments are closed.