Do You Know About Facebook Lists? You Should.

One of the features that has stood out for most using Google Plus, and probably the best feature for many, is “Circles”.  The feature allows you to sort your friends into individual circles providing the ability to post messages that are visible only to that circle or to customize your feed to read only posts from people within a particular circle.

The capability to post content or ask questions that apply only to specific people without subjecting the rest of your friends to what amounts to clutter (for them) in their news feed is great.  The fact that the user can read only posts that (if your ‘Circles’ were created properly) on a specific subject or individuals can make it easier to get the information you’re most after and allow for greater social interaction.

What few realize, the feature has long been available within Facebook.   I have taken advantage of Facebook’s lists for some time.   The only difference – Google Plus made it front & center as well as easy to use.  The list feature, while easy to use, is hidden and as a result, less than 5% of most people use Lists effectively.  Facebook is looking to change that with some new features (http://on.mash.to/q8xZGR), but until the changes start to show up here is a basic Lists 101:

To create a list:

Account Settings
Edit Friends
Click ‘+Create a List’

Add friends to (same process to remove from) a List:

Account Settings
Edit Friends
Change Recently Interacted to All Friends
To the left of the ‘X’ highlight click Edit Lists
Select the list you want

As you add friends, you can immediately add them to lists at that time.

How to use your new Lists to customize you’re news feed:

From your Home Page, Select ‘Most Recent’ as your News Feed, select the down arrow to the right of Most Recent and you’ll see a drop down menu allowing you to select what shows up in the feed including your lists and an option to just see the business fan pages you follow.

Let us know how this works for you!

Robert Nissenbaum

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Facebook and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.