Facebook’s Tagging Review Walkthrough

I started experimenting with the new Facebook privacy settings this evening.  I played with the tagging setting that allows the user to review and approve or block any post or image they’re tagged in prior to it showing on their wall.  There are a few concerns I have at present regarding how effective the process is in maintaining privacy (they’ll be discussed in another post), but I wanted to show the process.

When I was tagged by a friend, I did receive a notification that I was tagged, but did not get an email telling me to review the post.  The itself notification was pretty straight forward:

Once the notification cleared I went back to my profile.  Under my profile picture the notification showed up as a pending approval in the menu bar under “wall”.

Clicking on the pending tab provided the option to approve or deny the post.  I would have liked to see a 3rd and 4th option – to always approve or deny tags from certain people.  With Facebook moving to allow tagging of people regardless of friendship status, the possibility for spam increases and this would be a handy feature.

Robert Nissenbaum

About Robert Nissenbaum

As a consultant, speaker and educator I provide common sense, practical and actionable social media advice to small business owners and solopreneurs. Active using LinkedIn and Facebook since 2007, Twitter since 2009, Google+ and Pinterest by invitation before public release and now Instagram, the advice, support and training I offer are based on close to a decade of experience in using social media for my personal and own business brands, not simply what I have been taught or read. I approach social media from a very different perspective than most in the industry. I teach small business owners to shift their view of social media; to understand it’s less about their content and more about networking and building relationships. I work with clients to create the blueprint they need to succeed, help put the infrastructure and systems in place and offer continuing support. Social media is more than a career. It’s my passion. Having spoken on and taught social media since 2011, you’ll get a knowledgeable, seasoned speaker who will deliver quality content without fluff and up-sells. I am available to speak or facilitate social media training workshops at your event on a variety of topics and have presented in Washington and Arizona. Speaking engagements and workshops can be tailored to your needs with presentations as short as 20-30 minutes and training workshops starting at 90 minutes.
This entry was posted in Facebook and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facebook’s Tagging Review Walkthrough

  1. I truly have a tendency to agree with the whole thing that was in fact put into writing
    throughout “Facebooks Tagging Review Walkthrough Robert
    Nissenbaum”. I am grateful for all of the actual tips.
    Many thanks,August

Comments are closed.