Changes to Facebook Privacy Settings

One critical area of social media for me is maintaining a level or privacy.  While I am not concerned with people seeing my personal posts, I do want to protect my family and friends.  The recent changes that are starting to show up for many on Facebook bring some much needed new controls.

One of the bigger changes affects how tagging works.  Individuals now have the ability to preview posts they are tagged in PRIOR to the post showing on their wall and the ability to review images you’re tagged in BEFORE they show up in posts.   as well, you can control WHO sees you posts you’re tagged in after approval has been granted.  As before, there are additional settings to control if and when your friends can check you into place.

At present, I have chosen to turn off the review tagging options (on by default  – a nice change that shows Facebook taking privacy concerns more seriously than in the past) choosing to allow tagging the way it had been.  So far, the privilege of tagging me and my business has not been abused.   On the odd occasion that it is, email notification stating I have been tagged provide me quick access to remove any tags or posts in short order.  Since I am predominantly using Facebook for business, I’d prefer to make it as easy as possible for you to tag me and my business whenever possible.

There is one big unknown here that could change my mind.  Facebook now lets users tag ANYONE regardless of friendship status.  That is a great change for those that understand the value of  tagging people and how it can be used to drive interaction.  The downside – it also sets up the possibility for far more spam.

Time will tell whether I change my settings and approach.

To access the new settings, head to your profile, click on Account  to open the drop down menu and click privacy settings

About Robert Nissenbaum

WHO AM I? The work me: A writer, social media consultant, educator and public speaker. I work with solopreneurs and small to midsized businesses helping them effectively use content and social media marketing to build relationships, improve brand awareness, drive web traffic, improve SEO and generate leads through an organic process. What I teach, implement and speak on has its roots in traditional, old-school networking and cold calling. My techniques have been developed over a decade of building my personal brands through social media and relationships. I focus on a relationship based approach. That content is less important and plays a supportive role. That business, long-term, repeatable and sustainable business, is driven by relationships. Whether your business or organization is business-to-business or business-to-consumer, for profit or not for profit or service-based or retail-based, the principles I teach are highly effective and get real results. The real me: An avid sea kayaker, adventure seeker, and fisherman. I take full advantage of living on the water at Salmon Beach off the west side of Point Defiance Park in Tacoma’s North End. I spend as much time paddling as I do working. When not on the water, you can find me fishing off the deck, hiking, camping or otherwise exploring the PNW. I'll spend my downtime with friends, my children or simply having my feet up on the couch. The volunteer me: I teach LinkedIn classes at Joint Base Lewis McChord to help those transitioning to civilian life and am a kayak fishing guide for Heroes On The Water's Northwest Chapter. HON helps military veterans & their families relax, rehabilitate and reintegrate through kayak fishing.
This entry was posted in Facebook and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.